2017 USL Conference Realignment Confirmed



The United Soccer League has announced their conference realignment with new teams and new divisional status taking effect for the 2017 season. The league will expand the number of games played from 30 in 2016 to 32 in 2017.

“Building momentum off of our U.S. Soccer Division 2 designation last week, USL aims to become one of the most globally recognized second division professional soccer leagues in the world,” said USL President Jake Edwards. “The 2017 USL season will featured 495 games in 19 states with a focus on enhanced competition, and strong regional rivalries in both the Eastern and Western Conferences.”

The two conference alignment returns in 2017 for the third straight year after being installed in 2015 with 15 teams competing exclusively in the East and West. Newcomers Reno 1868, Tampa Bay Rowdies and Ottawa Fury join the fray while the Wilmington Hammerheads will not participate. The season will kick off on March 24th and go all the way to October 15th.

The USL Championship playoff format will remain the same as eight teams from each conference will qualify and compete in a single elimination tournament.

Eastern Conference:

Bethlehem Steel FC
Charleston Battery
Charlotte Independence
FC Cincinnati
Harrisburg City Islanders
Louisville City FC
New York Red Bull II
Orlando City B
Ottawa Fury FC
Pittsburgh Riverhounds
Richmond Kickers
Rochester Rhinos
St. Louis FC
Tampa Bay Rowdies
Toronto FC II

Western Conference:

Colorado Springs Switchbacks FC
LA Galaxy II
OKC Energy FC
Orange County Blues FC
Phoenix Rising FC
Portland Timbers 2
Real Monarchs SLC
Reno 1868 FC
Rio Grande Valley FC
Sacramento Republic FC
San Antonio FC
Seattle Sounders FC 2
Swope Park Rangers
Tulsa Roughnecks FC
Vancouver Whitecaps FC 2