Red Bulls’ Ambroise Oyongo makes Cameroon’s provisional AFCON roster


New York Red Bulls defender Ambroise Oyongo has enjoyed a stellar season with his new club, filling in admirably in the absence of Roy Miller and earning the attention of his home country, Cameroon, in the process.

Now, Indomitable Lions boss Volke Finke is rewarding his achievements with consideration for the African Cup of Nation’s roster.

Oyongo and 23 of his teammates will be vying for a spot in this year’s tournament, where Cameroon hopes to buoy the national team program under Africa’s most demanding competition.  The 23-year-old Red Bull standout joins a host of international talents as the only MLS representative in the group.  Oyongo made 13 starts through 18 appearances with the Red Bulls this season and joined Cameroon in qualifiers late this past summer.

The young defender will join Cameroon on January 5th for their training camp in Gabon, participating in three international friendlies (January 7th vs. Congo, January 11th vs. South Africa and January 16th against an opponent to be determined). Shortly there after, Finke will finalize his AFCON roster.

Cameroon drew Group D for the 2015 tournament, pitting them against Mali on the 20th, Guinea on the 24th and Ivory Coast on the 28th.

Here is the full Provisional Cameroon squad:

Goalkeepers: Joseph Ondoua (Barcelona, Spain), Guy Ndy Assembe (Nancy, France), Pierre Sylvain Abogo (Tonnerre Yaoundé)

Defenders: Cédric Djeugoue (Coton Sport), Jérôme Guihi Ata (Valenciennes, France), Nicolas Nkoulou (Marseille, France), Ambroise Oyongo Bitolo (New York Red Bulls, USA), Brice Nlate Ekongolo (Marseille, France), Franck Bagnack (Barcelona, Spain), Henri Bedimo (Lyon, France),

Midfielders: Stéphane Mbia (Seville, Spain), Enoh Eyong (Standard Liège, Belgium), Raoul Cedric Loe (CA Osasuna, Spain), Edgard Salli (Academica de Coimbra. Portugal), Georges Mandjeck (Kayseri Erciyesspor, Turkey), Franck Kom (Etoile du Sahel, Tunisia), Patrick Ekeng (FC Cordoba, Spain)

Forwards: Eric-Maxim Choupo-Moting (Schalke 04, Germany), Benjamin Moukandjo (Reims, France), Jacques Zoua (Kayseri Erciyesspor, Turkey), Vincent Aboubakar (Porto, Portugal), Léonard Kwekeu (Caykur Rizespor, Turkey), Clinton N’Jie (Lyon, France), Franck Etoundi (Zurich, Switzerland)