Tim Cahill up for FIFA Puskás Award for best goal of the year


Tim Cahill may not be enjoying his best club season, but he has certainly been lighting up the international stage.

Now, one of his most memorable career moments is up for a global recognition.

The Australian talisman joins ten others in the hunt for the FIFA Puskás Award; an honor bestowed upon the best goal of the year. Cahill’s memorable World Cup volley is in the hunt for the honor, amongst nine other potential candidates.

Cahill joins a field that includes fellow MLS star Camilo Sanvezzo as well as an array of global stars such as Zlatan Ibrahimovic, Robin van Persie and Diego Costa.  Here is the full list of goalscorers:

  • Tim Cahill – 18 June 2014, Australia v. Netherlands, 2014 FIFA World Cup™
  • Diego Costa – 23 November 2013, Atlético Madrid v. Getafe, Primera División (Spain)
  • Marco Fabian – 15 February 2014, Cruz Azul v. Puebla, 1a División 2014 Clausura (Mexico)
  • Zlatan Ibrahimovic – 19 October 2013, Paris St. Germain v. SC Bastia, Ligue 1 (France)
  • Pajtim Kasami – 21 October 2013, Crystal Palace v. Fulham, Premier League (England)
  • Stephanie Roche -20 October 2013, Peamount United v. Wexford Youths, BEWNL (Rep.Ireland)
  • James Rodriguez – 28 June 2014 – Colombia v. Uruguay,  2014 FIFA World Cup™
  • Camilo Sanvezzo – 6 October 2013 – Vancouver Whitecaps v. Portland Timbers, MLS (USA/Canada)
  • Hisato Sato – 8 March 2014 – Sanfrecce Hiroshima v. Kawasaki Frontale, J.League (Japan)
  • Robin van Persie – 13 June 2014 – Spain v. Netherlands, 2014 FIFA World Cup™