Klinsmann Names 22-Man Roster for Puerto Rico Friendly

Jurgen Klinsmann Smiles


Jurgen Klinsmann unveiled his 22-man roster on Monday afternoon for the upcoming friendly with Puerto Rico, per a release from U.S. Soccer.

Headlining the group are Tim Howard, Fabian Johnson, Alejandro Bedoya, and Brad Guzan.

The transition roster is exclusively made up of players based in Europe and Mexico. In fact, just 15 of the 22 players are in contention for a spot in the final Copa America Centenario roster.

Of local interest is the inclusion of both Matt Miazga and Fabrice Picault. Miazga was recently sold to Chelsea by the New York Red Bulls this offseason. Meanwhile, fans of the NASL may remember the New York native for his 2014 campaign with the Fort Lauderdale Strikers, where he scored 12 goals on 24 appearances.

This upcoming camp, which takes place this week in Miami, will be the first call-up to the senior level for five players including 2015 U-20 World Cup vets Paul Arriola and Zach Steffen.

One of the more surprising inclusions was Bayern Munich’s Julian Green, who returns to the fold for the first time since April 2015.

In addition, this week-long camp will see the return of Fulham’s Emerson Hyndman to the fold since September of 2014.

Fans will have a more accurate view of the Copa America team by the end of the week, as the final roster for the tournament is due on May 20th.

Selections from Major League Soccer for this summer’s tournament will join the camp in Dallas on May 23rd.

The Stars and Stripes are slated to take on Puerto Rico this Sunday at Juan Ramón Loubriel Stadium in Bayamón.

Kickoff is set for 12 PM and can be seen on FSI, FS1, UniMas, and UDN.


GOALKEEPERS (3): Brad Guzan (Aston Villa), Tim Howard (Colorado Rapids), Zach Steffen (SC Freiburg)

DEFENDERS (7): John Brooks (Hertha Berlin), Geoff Cameron (Stoke City), Eric Lichaj (Nottingham Forest), Matt Miazga (Chelsea), Michael Orozco (Club Tijuana), Tim Ream (Fulham), DeAndre Yedlin (Tottenham)

MIDFIELDERS (7): Alejandro Bedoya (Nantes), Emerson Hyndman (Fulham), Fabian Johnson (Borussia Monchengladbach), Perry Kitchen (Heart of Midlothian), Alfredo Morales (Ingolstadt), Caleb Stanko (SC Freiburg), Danny Williams (Reading)

FORWARDS (5): Paul Arriola (Club Tijuana), Julian Green (Bayern Munich), Fabrice Picault (FC St. Pauli), Amando Moreno (Club Tijuana), Bobby Wood (Hamburg)