Klinsmann names USMNT 23-man Gold Cup roster; Diskerud makes cut

Jurgen Klinsmann Smiles

by Deny Gallagher
USMNT writer

Jurgen Klinsmann has called 23 players into camp for the U.S. Men’s National Team 2015 Gold Cup squad.

The team is highlighted by many familiar faces including 17 from the 2014 World Cup side — and New York City FC midfielder Mix Diskerud.

Four non-World Cup veterans from the team’s successful European friendlies have made the cut, including Ventura Alvarado, Alfredo Morales, Gyasi Zardes, and William Yarbrough. Notably missing are Stanford’s Jordan Morris and 1860 Munich’s Bobby Wood. The duo were not only important contributors to the game-winning goal against Germany, but were vital in the most recent run of results.

Despite creating much controversy of late on the club level, Clint Dempsey returns to the fold after missing the previous camp due to the birth of his fourth child.

The final surprise when looking at the 23-man roster is Fabian Johnson listed as defender, and DeAndre Yedlin listed as a midfielder. With nine midfielders in total on the roster, could Jurgen Klinsmann have made a decision to go with the 3-5-2 for North America’s most important tournament? Only time will tell.

At first glance, this roster looks to be deep with talent and poised to make a run in the 2015 Gold Cup.

Stayed tuned to EOS all through the Gold Cup for the latest on the Stars and Stripes.

U.S. Roster By Position: Detailed Roster

GOALKEEPERS (3): Brad Guzan (Aston Villa/2007), Nick Rimando (Real Salt Lake/2011, 2013), William Yarbrough (Club Leon)

DEFENDERS (7): Ventura Alvarado (Club America), John Brooks (Hertha Berlin), Timmy Chandler (Eintracht Frankfurt), Brad Evans (Seattle Sounders FC/2009), Omar Gonzalez (LA Galaxy/2013), Fabian Johnson (Borussia Mönchengladbach), Tim Ream (Bolton Wanderers/2011)

MIDFIELDERS (9): Kyle Beckerman (Real Salt Lake/2009, 2013), Alejandro Bedoya (Nantes/2011, 2013), Michael Bradley (Toronto FC/2007, 2011), Brad Davis (Houston Dynamo/2005), Mix Diskerud (New York City FC/2013), Alfredo Morales (Ingolstadt), DeAndre Yedlin (Tottenham Hotspur), Gyasi Zardes (LA Galaxy), Graham Zusi (Sporting Kansas City)

FORWARDS (4): Jozy Altidore (Toronto FC/2011), Clint Dempsey (Seattle Sounders FC/2005, 2007, 2011), Aron Johannsson (AZ Alkmaar), Chris Wondolowski (San Jose Earthquakes/2011, 2013)

  • ElMetrofan

    Wodowlowski wtf… Again