Cahill, Luyindula highlight Red Bulls’ unprotected list


The 2014 expansion draft is set to take place this Wednesday at 2 p.m ET, and the New York Red Bulls are certainly making things interesting.

Designated Player Tim Cahill headlines a list of unprotected players that can potentially be scooped up by either New York City FC or Orlando City SC in the coming draft.  Joining him are playoff hero Peguy Luyindula, defender Ibrahim Sekagya and a host of 11 other players — including Thierry Henry — that will be up for selection.

Red Bull veterans Roy Miller, Dax McCarty, Jamison Olave, Luis Robles, Lloyd Sam and Bradley Wright-Phillips are among the eleven New York players protected from the draft.

Here is the full breakdown:

Available Players

Cahill, Tim
Convey, Bobby
Eckersley, Richard
Henry, Thierry
Kimura, Kosuke
Lozano, Armando
Luyindula, Peguy
Perrinelle, Damien
Sekagya, Ibrahim
Sene, Saer
Bover-Izquerdo, Ruben
Bustamante, Michael
Obekop, Marius
Stevenson, Eric

Protected Players

Alexander, Eric
Bitolo, Oyongo
Christianson, Ian
Duvall, Chris
McCarty, Dax
Meara, Ryan
Miller, Roy
Olave, Jamison
Robles, Luis
Sam, Lloyd
Wright-Phillips, Bradley

Homegrown Players exempt from selection

Castano, Santiago
Lade, Connor
Miazga, Matt

Generation adidas Players exempt from selection