U.S. v. Mexico looking more like MLS v. Liga MX


MLS and Liga MX are constantly being compared.  Now, the competition continues on the international stage.

The U.S. roster features 19 MLS based players of a possible 22 listed for the encounter. Of those 22, only one plies their trade in Europe — the much-anticipated Bayern Munich product, Julian Green.

Mexico does them one better.  Head coach Miguel Herrera has called in nineteen players to camp — all of whom feature in Liga MX. The reasoning for the domestic tone of the competition, of course, stems from the friendly schedule, based on a non-FIFA international date. The circumstances, however, set up a unique contest between in-form Liga MX players and their MLS counterparts.

Recently, Liga MX struck a death blow to MLS and their prospects of success in CONCACAF Champions League. Aside from one magical run by Real Salt Lake in 2010-2011 , that has become the norm in North American circles. Not only will this match hold international significance, but may also serve as a modicum of revenge for MLS after another embarrassing CCL ouster.

If you are looking for a familiar face in the Mexican squad, look no further than Rafa Marquez; Mexican captain, former Barcelona defender and notorious New York Red Bulls alumn. He will be surrounded by seven Club America players (coach Miguel Herrera’s former club), two Leon teammates and a pair of Cruz Azul products, including standout Marco Fabian.

Herrera has only called two natural strikers to the match, which falls in line with his unique tactical approach. He will once again be depending on some familiar faces to achieve a result against his better-fortified U.S. opponent.

Here is the full Mexico roster:

Goalkeepers: Alfredo Talavera (Toluca), Moises Munoz (America)

Defenders: Paul Aguilar (America), Miguel Layun (America), Miguel Angel Ponce (Toluca), Francisco Javier Rodríguez (America), Juan Carlos Valenzuela (America), Rogelio Alfredo Chavez (Cruz Azul), Enrique Perez (Atlas), Rafael Marquez (Leon)

Jesus Eduardo Zavala (Monterrey), Juan Carlos Medina (America), Marco Fabian (Cruz Azul), Carlos Alberto Pena (Leon), Luis Arturo Montes (Leon), Isaac Brizuela (Toluca)

Forwards: Alan Pulido (Tigres), Raul Jimenez (América)