NYRB II Top Year End Award Finalists



Brandon Allen, Aaron Long and John Wolyniec represent the Eastern Conference Champion New York Red Bull II in several key categories of the 2016 USL Awards.

Brandon Allen tops the list with a nomination for Rookie of the Year and Most Valuable Player. Allen finished second in the Golden Boot race with 15 goals. He also played in 28 games, scoring three times in the playoffs thus far.

The competition for MVP is quite stiff with 2016 goalscoring champion Sean Okoli and Enzo Martinez up against him. Allen will also have to compete with 15 year old rookie Alphonso Davies and Rochester’s Joe Farrell for the top newcomer.

John Wolyniec is also up for the Coach of the Year Award. John has led New York Red Bull II to a record breaking season and is one win away from the team’s first championship in only their second year. Wolyniec has already received the endorsement of MLS head coach Jesse Marsch who feels that the reserve team gaffer is more than deserving of the honor.

Rounding out the awards is Aaron Long who is up for Defender of the Year. Swope Park Rangers Amer Didic and Hugh Roberts of the Richmond Kickers stand in his way. Long was so impressive in his 2016 campaign that he received a call-up to the MLS Red Bull team, making Champions League appearances for the team in recent months.


Goalkeeper of the Season – Winner Announced 10/31
Tomaz Gomez (Rochester Rhinos)
Devala Gorriick (Colorado Springs Switchbacks)
Mitch Hildebrandt (FC Cincinnati)

Defender of the Season – Winner Announced 11/1
Amer Didic (Swope Park Rangers)
Aaron Long (New York Red Bull II)
Hugh Roberts (Richmond Kickers)

Coach of the Year – Winner Announced 11/2
Marc Dos Santos (Swope Park Rangers)
John Harkes (FC Cincinnati)
John Wolyniec (New York Red Bull II)

Rookie of the Year – Winner Announced 11/3
Brandon Allen (New York Red Bull II)
John Farrell (Rochester Rhinos)
Alphonso Davies (Vancouver Whitecaps FC 2)

Most Valuable Player – Winner Announced 11/4
Brandon Allen (New York Red Bull II)
Sean Okoli (FC Cincinnati)
Enzo Martinez (Charlotte Independence