Red Bulls Ouimette receives call-up for World Cup qualifiers

HARRISON, N.J. (August 27, 2015) – Karl Ouimette may be a welcome reinforcement with the New York Red Bulls, but he continues to be a big piece of the new Canadian National Team.
Head coach Benito Floro has once again called on Ouimette, this time for the Canadian National Team’s third round 2018 FIFA World Cup qualifiers.
The Canadian side is set to take on Belize in a home-and-home series. Ouimette, a Quebec native, has 10 caps to his credit with the national team. He also has 10 appearances with the Red Bulls this season and four additional appearances with USL side New York Red Bulls II.
The 23-year-old center back will join the team for training which begins Monday, August 31st ahead of Canada’s first leg at BMO Field on Friday, September 4th. They then travel to Belize for the second leg in Belmopan on Tuesday, September 8th. Both matches fall between Red Bull dates, meaning Ouimette should be available for both this weekend’s DC United clash and the September 11th Chicago Fire return encounter.
As for Canada, the series winner moves onto the fourth round in November which will consist of a four team group that includes Mexico, Honduras and the winner of El Salvador, Curacao.
Here is the 22-man Canadian roster:
Canada Roster by Position:
GOALKEEPERS (3): Milan Borjan (Bulgaria, Ludogorets Razgrad), Maxime Crépeau (Canada, Impact de Montréal), Kenny Stamatopoulos (Sweden, AIK)
DEFENDERS (8): Samuel Adekugbe (Canada, Vancouver Whitecaps FC), Luca Gasparotto (Scotland, Glasgow Rangers – on loan at Greenock Morton), Manjrekar James (Hungary, Diosgyori VTK), Karl Ouimette (USA, New York Red Bulls)Marcel de Jong (USA, Sporting KC), David Edgar (England, Birmingham City FC – on loan at Sheffield United), Nik Ledgerwood (Germany, Energie Cottbus), Adam Straith (Norway, Fredrikstad)
MIDFIELDERS (8): Tesho Akindele (USA, FC Dallas), Kyle Bekker (Canada, Impact de Montréal), Atiba Hutchinson (Turkey, Besiktas), Will Johnson (USA, Portland Timbers), Issey Nakajima-Farran (Malaysia, Terengganu), Michael Petrasso (England, Queens Park Rangers), Samuel Piette (Spain, Deportivo la Coruna – on loan at Racing de Ferrol), Russell Teibert (Canada, Vancouver Whitecaps FC)
FORWARDS (3): Tosaint Ricketts (Turkey, Boluspor), Marcus Haber (England, Crewe Alexandra FC), Cyle Larin (USA, Orlando City SC)