USWNT Members Nominated For FIFA Coach, Player of the Year Honors

Credit: US Soccer

By MC Bousquette

On Monday, FIFA announced its shortlist for its annual awards which included three members of the USWNT for 2015 Player of the Year and USWNT Head Coach Jill Ellis for Coach of the Year. Carli Lloyd, Megan Rapinoe, and Hope Solo are all up for the 2015 Player of the Year Award.

Lloyd, who won the Golden Ball during the 2015 World Cup, scored six goals during the tournament’s elimination rounds, including her epic hat trick during the final against Japan:

Solo, who won the 2015 World Cup Golden Glove award, played every minute of every game for the US during the tournament and recorded five blank sheets.

Rapinoe started at midfield for six matches, and recorded two assists and two goals. Her goals were key to the USWNT victory over Australia.

The award finalists will be announced on November 30th, and the winners on January 11, 2016 at the FIFA Ballon d’Or Gala.

Important Note: Becky Sauerbrunn, arguably one of the best centerbacks ever, was snubbed yet again by FIFA, who did not include her on the shortlist for unknown reasons. Probably the same (incorrect and/or non-existent) ones that kept her off the FIFA Women’s World Cup All Start Team and the Golden Ball.

The full list of nominees for Player of the Year and Coach of the Year:

2015 FIFA Women’s World Player of the Year Short List:

Nadine Angerer (Germany/Brisbane Roar/Portland Thorns), Ramona Bachmann (Switzerland/FC Rosengård), Kadeisha Buchanan (Canada/West Virginia University), Amandine Henry (France/Olympique Lyonnais), Eugénie Le Sommer (France/Olympique Lyonnais), Carli Lloyd (USA/Houston Dash), Aya Miyama (Japan/Okayama Yunogo Belle), Megan Rapinoe (USA/Seattle Reign), Célia Šašić (Germany/1.FFC Frankfurt), Hope Solo (USA/Seattle Reign)

2015 FIFA World Coach of the Year for Women’s Soccer Short List:

Calle Barrling (Sweden/Swedish U-19 national team), Colin Bell (England/1.FFC Frankfurt), Farid Benstiti (France/Paris Saint-Germain), Jill Ellis (USA/USA national team), Laura Harvey (England/Seattle Reign), John Herdman (England/Canadian national team), Gérard Prêcheur (France/Olympique Lyonnais), Mark Sampson (Wales/English national team), Norio Sasaki (Japan/Japanese national team), Thomas Wörle (Germany/FC Bayern Munich)