FIFA Puskas Award snub for Tim Cahill’s World Cup wonder goal


Apparently, there are three better goals scored this year than this:

FIFA announced their Puskas Award finalists; a global recognition for the best goal of the year. New York Red Bulls DP Tim Cahill was amongst a field of five players vying for the prize, but fell short of the final cut. Colombian star James Rodriguez, Ireland’s Stephanie Roche and Netherlands’ Robin van Persie round out the top three finalists.

Each goal is certainly worthy of recognition.  Rodriguez won the best goal of the World Cup recognition this year, making his mark a shoo-in for the vote.  Van Persie had the tournament abuzz with his concentration on a magnificent header.  The skill Roche displays in touch and precision is simply world class.

However, Cahill’s goal can arguably stand up to each, demonstrating concentration in an unnatural lateral movement while striking a ball from 40 yards out with a sniper’s precision.

The finalists are determined by an online vote at  Voting continues on the site, with a winner set to be announced on January 12th.