Ramos calls in Red Bull youth players for Dallas Cup

U.S. Under-20 Men’s National Team coach Tab Ramos has selected his 21-man roster for this month’s Dallas Cup, and a few Red Bulls — past and present — have made the cut.

Red Bull centerback Matt Miazga and goalkeeper Santiago Castano join former teammate and current Club Tijuana forward Amando Moreno for the tournament.

The U.S. have been placed in Bracket C of the Gordon Jago Super Group with the Eintracht Frankfurt U-19 side, River Plate of Argentina and UANL Tigres of Mexico. The tournament begins next week from the 13th-20th. They open the tournament against River on the 13th.

While normally an insignificant loss for the veteran laden New York Red Bulls, Miazga’s call-up couldn’t come at a worse time. The Red Bull backline has been hampered by injuries to a host of players over the past two weeks, including centerback Armando, and fullbacks Roy Miller, Richard Eckersley and Kosuke Kimura. In fact, Miazga earned his first minutes of this season this weekend against Montreal in light of those losses. The call-up will omit Miazga for selection in two big games against D.C. United away and Philadelphia at home.

Here is the full roster:
[colored_box color=”red”]
Santiago Castano (NewYork Red Bulls; Union City, N.J.), Zack Steffen (Maryland; Downington, Pa.)

Jordan Allen (Real Salt Lake; Rochester, N.Y.), Michael Amick (UCLA; Sunnyvale, Calif.), Sullaiman Dainkeh (Maryland; Reston, Va.), Trevor Haberkorn (Furman; Roanoke, Texas), Matthew Miazga (New York Red Bulls; Clifton, N.J.), Shaquell Moore (Unattached; Powder Springs, Ga.), Erik Palmer-Brown (Sporting KC; Lee’s Summit, Mo.), John Requejo Jr. (Real So Cal; Carpinteria, Calif.), Jesus Vazquez (UANL Tigres; San Luis Obispo, Calif.)

Kellyn Acosta (FC Dallas; Plano, Texas), Marco Delgado (Chivas USA; Glendora, Calif.), Luis Felipe (Cruzeiro; Ouro Branco, Brazil), Romain Gall (FC Lorient; Herndon, Va.), Lynden Gooch (Sunderland; Santa Cruz, Calif.)

Benji Lopez (Real Salt Lake; San Diego, Calif.), Amando Moreno (Club Tijuana; Morganville, N.J.), Zach Pfeffer (Philadelphia Union; Dresher, Pa.), Rubio Rubin (Unattached; Beaverton, Ore.), Ben Spencer (Indy Eleven; Albuquerque, N.M.)

Warning: count(): Parameter must be an array or an object that implements Countable in /nfs/c12/h02/mnt/211961/domains/empireofsoccer.com/html/wp-includes/class-wp-comment-query.php on line 399

Warning: sizeof(): Parameter must be an array or an object that implements Countable in /nfs/c12/h02/mnt/211961/domains/empireofsoccer.com/html/wp-content/plugins/bmo-expo/classes/theGallery.php on line 136