Ramos Takes 25 to London for U-20 Camp

USMNT U-20 Coach Tab Ramos (Couresy US Soccer)


United States U-20 Coach Tab Ramos has tapped 25 players on the shoulder to join him in London, April 3-10, for a training camp ahead of  the 2017 FIFA U-20 World Cup in South Korea. The American team opens play against Ecuador on May 22.

“This camp provides one more opportunity for players we have already seen with the U-20 national team and also players who have done well with our U-19 national team,” Ramos said in a statement. “We will be able to see players in highly competitive environments playing against very good competition.”

After the game against Ecuador, the U.S. faces Senegal (May 25) and Saudi Arabia (May 28). The first two games will be played at Incheon Stadium and the third of the group stages at Daejeon’s World Cup stadium.

“I am sure that there will be a few players who will be selected for the U-20 World Cup based on their performance at this camp,” Ramos said.

The U.S. advanced to the finals after defeating Honduras in penalty kicks to win the CONCACAF championship in Costa Rica on March 5.

The Roster (team/hometown):

Goalkeeper: Jonathan Klinsmann (University of California; Newport Beach, Calif.), J.T. Marcinkowski (Georgetown University; Alamo, Calif.), Brady Scott (De Anza Force; Petaluma, Calif.), Justin Vom Steeg (Fortuna Düsseldorf; Santa Barbara, Calif.)

Defenders: Hugo Arellano (Los Angeles Galaxy; Norwalk, Calif.), Danny Barbir (West Bromwich Albion; Allentown, Pa.), Marcello Borges (University of Michigan; Kearny, N.J.), Aaron Herrera (University of New Mexico; Casa Grande, Ariz.), John Nelson (Internationals; Medina, Ohio), Keaton Parks (Plano, Tex.; Unattached), Miles Robinson (Atlanta United ; Arlington, Mass.), Brandon Terwege (FC Dallas; Highland Village, Tex.)

Midfielders: Mukwelle Akale (Villarreal; Minneapolis, Minn.), Collin Fernandez (Chicago Fire; Bridgeview, Ill.), Jeremiah Gutjahr (Indiana University; Bloomington, Ind.), Djordje Mihailovic (Chicago Fire; Bridgeview, Ill.), James Murphy (Sheffield Wednesday; Scotch Plains, N.J.), Yosef Samuel (Bethlehem Steel; Atlanta, Ga.), Eryk Williamson (University of Maryland; Alexandria, Va.)

Forwards: Sebastien Des Pres (Blackpool; San Diego, Calif.), Felipe Hernandez (Swope Park Rangers; Murfreesboro, Tenn.), Lagos Kunga (Atlanta United; Tucker, Ga.), Stephen Paybe (Estoril Praia; Birmingham, Ala.), Emmanuel Sabbi ( Las Palmas; Columbus, Ohio), Mason Toye (PDA; South Orange, N.J.)