Red Bulls Release Protected Players List Ahead of Expansion Draft



The New York Red Bulls have released the list of protected players ahead of the MLS expansion draft, with very few surprises.

The protected player list includes: Goalkeepers Ryan Meara and Luis Robles; Defenders Aurelien Collin and Kemar Lawrence; Midfielders Dax McCarty, Sacha Kljestan, Felipe Martins, Mike Grella and Daniel Royer; Forwards Bradley Wright-Phillips and Gonzalo Veron.

In addition, New York will protect six of their homegrown players: Tyler Adams, Brandon Allen, Derrick Etienne Jr., Sean Davis, Alex Muyl and Connor Lade.

Each team is given the chance to keep 11 players from that draft with all others being available for selection by the newest sides Atlanta United FC and Minnesota United FC.

The players still under contract that are available in the expansion draft are: Gideon Baah, Justin Bilyeu, Chris Duvall, Sal Zizzo and Aaron Long. Several others including Ronald Zubar and Aurelien Collin are available for the draft but are currently out of contract with the team.

The expansion draft will take place tomorrow at 2PM with both teams selecting five players from the pool of unprotected players. No more than one player can be selected from an MLS side, meaning that New York could potentially lose only one player from its squad.

New York Red Bulls protected players:

Goalkeepers (2): Luis Robles, Ryan Meara

Defenders (2): Kemar Lawrence, Aurelien Collin

Midfielders (5): Dax McCarty, Sacha Kljestan, Felipe, Mike Grella, Daniel Royer

Forwards (2): Bradley Wright-Phillips, Gonzalo Veron

Homegrown Players (6): Tyler Adams, Brandon Allen, Sean Davis, Derrick Etienne Jr., Alex Muyl, Connor Lade

The list of unprotected players is as follows:

Goalkeepers (1): Kyle Reynish

Defenders (8): Gideon Baah, Justin Bilyeu, Chris Duvall, Aaron Long, Karl Ouimette, Damien Perrinelle, Sal Zizzo, Ronald Zubar

Midfielders (1): Shaun Wright-Phillips

Forwards (2): Anatole Abang, Omer Damari