Sargent Sends U.S. U-20 Team to Top of Its Group



downloadThe United States U-20 national team is on the cusp of advancing to the first knockout stage of the FIFA U-20 World Cup after Thursday’s 1-0 victory over Senegal in South Korea.

Josh Sargent scored his third goal of the tournament, taking a pass from Luca de la Torre near the edge of the penalty area before turning his defender and scoring past Mouhamed Mbaye for the game-winning goal.

The United States (1-1-0, 4 points) holds a one-point lead over Senegal (1-0-1, 3) and Saudi Arabia (1-0-1, 3) ahead of the final games in Group F on Sunday. The U.S. faces Saudi Arabia (5 a.m., Fox Sports 1, Fox Sports Go, Telemundo) and Senegal will play Ecuador (0-1-1, 1) in the finale of the group stage for the three teams.

Earlier on Thursday, Saudi Arabia earned a 2-1 victory over Ecuador. The day’s results mean the U.S. is guaranteed at least a third-place finish in Group F and a chance to play on. The U.S. can clinch the top spot in the group with a win against Saudi Arabia, while a draw would also assures advancement.

Sargent, who is tied on three goals to lead the race for the tournament’s Golden Boot Award, gave the U.S. the lead in the 34th minute. Aaron Herrera played a ball forward that Tyler Adams touched through traffic with the outside of his right foot. De la Torre ran on to the ball and centered for Sargent, whose touch turned him away from his defender and simultaneously set him up to score past Mbaye.

As Senegal pressed for the equalizer, the U.S. midfield and back line, led by Cameron Carter-Vickers, continued to frustrate and limit Senegal to only two attempts on goal, neither of which troubled U.S. goalkeeper Jonathan Klinsmann.


US: 1-Jonathan Klinsmann; 3-Danny Acosta, 16-Cameron Carter-Vickers, 5-Erik Palmer-Brown (capt.), 14-Aaron Herrera; 7-Eryk Williamson (6-Justen Glad, 84), 8-Tyler Adams, 18-Derrick Jones; 17-Brooks Lennon, 19-Josh Sargent (15-Jeremy Ebobisse, 90+4), 20-Luca de la Torre (13-Lagos Kunga, 90)

Subs not used: 2-Auston Trusty, 4-Tommy Redding, 9-Emmanuel Sabbi, 11-Sebastian Saucedo, 12-James Marcinkowski, 21-Brady Scott

SEN: 1-Mouhamed Mbaye; 3-Jean Ndecky, 2-Waly Diouf, 6-Mamadou Diarra (capt.), 4-Souleymane Aw; 5-Cavin Diagne (20-Akhibou Ly, 76), 17-Krepin Diatta, 19-Bamba Kane; 11-Ibrahima Ndiaya, 10-Aliou Badji (12-Habib Gueye, 79), 7-Ibrahima Niane

Subs not used: 8-Moussa Ba, 9-Mouhamed Pouye, 13-Alioune Gueye, 14-Ousseynou Niang, 15-Mamadou Mbaye, 16-Lamine Sarr, 18-Souleye Sarr, 21- Idrissa Ndiaye